Topic 2 : Digital Disconnect. Do not use social media for 24 hours. You must do this in order to experience being disconnected. Your blog post should reflect on the experience

Since social media has strongly affected to people in the past 10 years, and checking social media everyday has been a habitat of most people who use internet nowadays, disconnecting social media for 1 day is one of the most difficult challenges I have ever done in my life.no social media

I started to switch off my social media at 11pm, before going to sleep.  And it immediately affected my activities. I usually surf facebook before I go to sleep and at the night without facebook, I could not chat and discussed about the soccer matches that taking place at that moment with my friends. That made me feel alone but later I can fall asleep easily. I woke up at 10am and as usual, the first thing I did was picking my phone and checked the conversation as well as the messages. But I already deleted the facebook application on my phone so I could not receive any messages or conversation announcement. I began to miss the social media world where I can see my family or my friends activities. I had my lunch at 11pm in a food court nearby where I realized most of the people who sat alone, from the teenagers to middle-age people, had paid their attention on the phone rather than things around, same as my behavior when I can use social media. After the lunch, I went to school at had the most effective lesion so far, since I paid most of my attention on the lecture although there are still sometimes that I usually check my phone at the beginning of the class. After this class, I started to notice all the classes I joined and recognized that there are at least 10% students of each class usually use their phones in class and paid less attention to the lecturer.phone

After the class, I went home at 6pm and had my dinner at home. I watched a movie that I downloaded on my laptop before, while I was having my dinner. In this time, I started to think of my friends and my family again and really wanted to connect to the social network to see if anything was happen. At this time, there were 2 voices usually come up in my mind, one urged me to connect to the social media and the other tried to stop me not to do so. After finished a movie at 9pm, I tried to do errands which is cleaning my room, washing my clothes and had a walk around my place until 10:30pm. That could be considered as an exercise, which I have not usually done since I started to stay home and focus on my laptop. After taking a shower until 11pm, I downloaded my facebook application and tried to contact everyone and tell them my experiences. That night, I used facebook, read news and watched video clips until 2 am even though I was very sleepy.
Actually the experience was not bad as I thought before I disconnect the social media and thanks to this, I believe I will be able to not become so dependent to the social media.

Leave a comment